Return to main website
Call Us 1300 300 922
Contact Us
Mybudget
Ready for March madness? How to budget for fun.
By Tammy May


Have you budgeted or March madness?March is just around the corner and it’s the month when Australia comes alive with festivals and concerts. There’s much to look forward to, so let’s talk about the importance of budgeting for fun. Big financial goals are important, but it’s great to have smaller goals in your budget, too. Fun stuff—like budgeting for a concert ticket or a night out with friends—provides a sense of achievement while you chip away at your long-term goals.

Here are my tips for March madness:

  • Keep it affordable. You’re probably going to be spoiled for choice, which means you’ll need to be selective about which event(s) you go to. Don’t forget to look for free events.
  • The cost of the ticket is just the beginning. You’ll also need to budget for food, drinks and transport.
  • Plan your transport in advance. Event parking is usually expensive and it’s often cheaper to take public transport or share a taxi with friends. If you’re catching a bus or train, set an alert on your phone so you don’t miss it.
  • When you’re buying drinks or food, use cash. It’s too easy to lose track of spending when you pay with plastic. In fact, it’s a good idea to leave your credit card at home. If you must use a card, make it a debit card.
  • Lastly, if you’re a MyBudget client, don’t hesitate to contact us if you need help reworking your budget to include an event or concert ticket. It may be a small goal, but it’s still really important and we’re always here to help.

Selection of March 2015 events around the country

  • Adelaide Fringe Festival (SA), 13/2-15/3 www.adelaidefringe.com.au
  • Perth International Arts Festival (WA), 13/2-7/3 www.perthfestival.com.au
  • Byron Bay Film Festival (NSW), 6-15/3 www.bbff.com.au
  • Enlighten Canberra (ACT), 27/2-7/3 www.enlightencanberra.com
  • Adelaide Festival (SA), 27/2-15/3 www.adelaidefestival.com.au
  • Melbourne Food & Wine Festival (VIC), 27/2-15/3 www.melbournefoodandwine.com.au
  • WOMADelaide 2015 (SA), 6-9/3 www.womadelaide.com.au
  • Moomba 2015 (VIC), 6-9/3 www.moomba.com.au
  • Sculpture by the Sea Cottesloe (WA), 6-23/3 www.sculpturebythesea.com
  • Formula 1™ Grand Prix (VIC), 12-15/3 www.grandprix.com.au
  • Melbourne Fashion Festival (VIC), 14-22/3 www.lmff.com.au
  • Melbourne Flower & Garden Show (VIC), 25-29/3 www.melbflowershow.com.au
  • Sydney Royal Easter Show (NSW), 26/3-8/4 www.eastershow.com.au
  • Melbourne Comedy Festival (VIC), 25/3-19/4 www.comedyfestival.com.au
We're here to help
Our clients say that we are ‘life changing.’ This could be your story too.
Let's Talk